REVIEW | Nature Republic Aloe Vera Soothing Gel

Hi there!
Here’s my review on Nature Repubic Aloe Vera Soothing Gel

5W + 1H about the product :

What is it?
Nature Republic Aloe Vera Soothing Gel is a…Gel. Okay, I’m being unhelpful here.. So as I read on other beauty blogs, this gel is supposed to be some kind of multipurpose gel. You can use it for your hair, your face and body, you can use it as face moisturizer, body moisturizer, primer, aftershave, to soothe your skin after being under the sun all day, etc.

Here’s the tub
Plastic protective cap

Clear Gel

It’s clear, have a watery texture 
blends and sinks right in

As you can see, it is a clear gel. You get 300 ml of product in this plastic jar. It has a screw on lid with a plastic protective cap. Now, I don’t really like the container, I don’t like jar containers in general, simply because it’s not hygienic. I’m gonna have to be honest here, I’m slouchy. I never seem to remember to wash my hands before I do something. I do wash my hands before I eat, but that’s a different story. What I mean is I never seem to remember to use clean fingers when I apply products to my skin, especially my face area. And since this is a multipurpose product, I hate the container more. I’m gonna use this for my arms and legs, even if I cleansed my hands before I touch the product, I’m gonna need to dip my fingers back into the gel after I touch my arms or legs when I’m trying to get more of the products. So of course my arms and legs are not as clean as my face. If I wear shorts and sit on the floor or on the carpet, my legs will surely pick up some dirt. And the dirt may transfer from my cleansed finger into the product after I touch my legs and I dip back my fingers in it. Next time I use the product for my face, I may as well put the dirt into my face.

Well I might be overthinking this, but I think I’m gonna go buy another container with pump dispenser just to make sure I only touch the product I’m gonna use and the rest is safe from any bacteria that my hand my contain.

Why did I buy it? Why was I interested in buying it?
I saw a review on a beauty blog (I can’t remember whose blog was that) about this product. A multipurpose gel? I get drawn into it right away. And it being soothing… might as well work as an aftershave for my legs. So off I go into the search of the product! Even before this product become officially available in Indonesia, people have been buying it from the online store. And they say, after Nature Republic opened up their first store, it turns out the Aloe soothing gel was way cheaper in the counter than in those online stores. Well I imagine this is because the gel is 300 ml. It can get expensive for the shipping from Korea to Indonesia for quite a heavy product. So I decided even if it’s easier to get my hand on the product if I buy it on the online store, I would only buy this if I found it in Nature Republic’s counter.

Where did I buy it?
Here’s a story. One day on the month of… maybe February or March. One of my friend said that she’d go ice skating with her boyfriend at Mal Taman Anggrek. I rarely went to MTA just because it’s so far away from my house. I knew that there’s a Nature Republic counter there, so I had to ask her to buy the Aloe gel for me. And I was so glad she said yes. But then it turns out that the Aloe gel was sold out and will be available next month. I was disappointed and I forgot about it until I went to Plaza Indonesia last Saturday. I was on the escalator when I noticed that a counter sell Belif skincare that I never knew available in Indonesia. When I was up on the (I forgot what) floor I saw that Nature Republic was on the same counter as Belif! I get a little bit too excited and decided to buy the Aloe Soothing Gel. Oh and it was on sale for IDR 59.000! I think the price went up, because it used to be priced at IDR 59.000 even without discount, but then I think I saw it’s original price was around IDR 90.000.

When did I buy it?
I bought this on Saturday, June 8th 2013.

How did it work?
I have tried using this gel for face moisturiser, body moisturiser, aftershave gel, hair moisturiser. As for face moisturiser, I find this isn’t the most moisturising products for me. And I have quite a dry skin so I prefer creamy moisturiser. And I found that this gel contains alcohol so I’m afraid that it would make my skin even drier on the long run. However, I really enjoy using this as body moisturiser and aftershave gel. I use this especially on my legs because I shave my legs regularly and this does wonder on soothing the newly shaved legs. The gel feels cool and refreshing and could really make me stop scratching my itchy legs. I also don’t really like putting this gel on my hair just because I feel like it makes my hair even drier.

Okay, I think that’s all. I hope you enjoyed reading this! 😀

Leave a Reply

