Reading Recommendation #1

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (image from wikipedia)

Well, hello there. You might be wondering why am I making a post about reading recommendation? Isn’t this a beauty blog? Well, the answer is no. I don’t know what will be the future of this blog, but for now I want to write and share with you what I can share. So if I feel like writing reviews for beauty products, I will. And if I want to write reviews for book, so be it.

And today I want to share my thoughts on my recent reads (well, not so recent) which is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

I like this book. This book might fall into young-adult category with romance genre. I would say that this book is more of an easy read. The story is about two teenagers, Hazel and Augustus. Hazel, the main character fell in love with a boy she met at a cancer support group. Hazel had thyroid cancer that spread to her lung but manageable by a fictional drug named Phalanxifor. The boy, Augustus Waters, was in remission from osteosarcoma or bone cancer. 

The story started when Hazel first met Augustus in a cancer support group. Augustus was accompanying his friend Isaac at the time. They were attracted to each other and continue to grow their relationship despite the fact that their days are numbered. Hazel had this favorite writer Peter Van Houten who wrote a book she liked so much called An Imperial Affliction. She shared her love for the book with Augustus until he gave his Wish eligibility for Hazel to be able to meet Peter Van Houten. The ending was a bit unexpected and not so exciting for me, but it’s a good book nevertheless.

That was a crappy summary of the book, but I don’t want to spoil the book by giving a full summary.

What I like the most about this book is how John Green wrote it. The story and the sentences are just… flowing. I found that there are so many sentences that I could quote from this book. I mean, for me, not every book has a quotable part, and this book has a lot. Go to this site if you’re interested to learn more about the quoted part of this book.

Here are my 2 personal favorite quote :

“The world is not a wish-granting factory”

“Some infinities are bigger than other infinities”

After reading this book I was quite impressed that I feel the need to search for other John Green’s book. So far I’ve read An Abundance of Katherines and Paper Towns. I don’t like both books as much as The Fault in Our Stars, but they were still an enjoyable book to read.

If haven’t read this book yeat and you’re up to reading something easy, definitely get this book!

Nowadays I prefer reading books using my tablet just because I can easily bring a lot of books because it’s an app! It doesn’t make my bag any heavier, haha. I’m the kind of person who gets bored of reading one book (unless it’s very interesting), so a lot of the time I switch between books even though I haven’t finish reading the first one. And I only read when I’m in the mood for it.

The thing about printed books are, I’m kind of sensitive about it. When it comes to a book that I love, I want to keep its appearance as good as new, so when I want to bring it somewhere I will be thinking about the damages I could make to the book. I don’t like folding the corner of the page to mark the part I’m currently reading (because it will leave a crease on the paper) and I seem to always lose my bookmarks, so finding the page I’m reading on a printed book can be troublesome especially because I’m a slow reader and I tend to leave the book for some days before I pick it up again.

If you’re like me and you prefer reading digital books, here’s some links to buy the digital version of the books I mentioned above :
The Fault in Our Stars (kindle) / (iBooks)
An Abundance of Katherines (kindle) / (iBooks)
Paper Towns (kindle) / (iBooks)

How about you? Do you prefer reading from your tablet or you’re printed-book-kind-of-person? Let me know in the comment below!

Leave a Reply

