Novel Haul

Hello! I haven’t been writing a post about books since this one.

So, my father had gone to Dublin, Ireland last week when I found out that J.K. Rowling had just published a new novel (under the pseudonym of Robert Galbraith) titled “The Cuckoo’s Calling” (I found this out when Fleur from fleurdeforce instagrammed the pic of the book saying that J.K. Rowling wrote a book under a pseudonym). I immidiately asked my father to buy it for me while he’s still in Dublin for fear that the book have not arrived in the shelves of Indonesia’s imported bookstore such as Kinokuniya or Times/Books and Beyond or Periplus. Later, my father contacted me to ask whether I want another book because the bookstore was having a buy one get one half price deal going on. I thought I didn’t want anything else when I suddenly remember that I’ve been wanting to get Dan Brown’s Inferno for some time but still waiting for the paperback version to come out because the hardcover was overly pricy here in Indonesia (IDR 359.000 if I’m not mistaken).

And so tonight when my father finally arrived safely at home and unpack all his bags (he got additional suitcase and a backpack fyi) I was so excited to finally get my hands on this two New York Times Bestseller! I did not forget to take a picture of course.

I have read a sample of The Cuckoo’s Calling on iBooks store and I immidiately realized how different (and kind of hard to understand) J.K. Rowling’s writing style than most English language novel I’ve read before. FYI, English is not my first language, and I’ve read all Harry Potter Books in Indonesian and never read The Casual Vacancy. So when I got the books, I decided to read Inferno first hoping that I would understand it (I have never read Dan Brown’s books in English) despite it being a historical, quite intellectually challenging novel. I am currently on 15th chapter and I’m really enjoying it and understand it quite well so far. Hope that I won’t be bored and neglected this book in the middle like how I never finished reading The Lost Symbol.

One thing I regret is : I did not ask my father to buy me some “things” at Boots! I believe you all know what I mean by “things”, hehe. If only I did, I’d be making a different haul post today :p
Hope you all have a nice weekend ahead, good night and get some much needwd rest!
— Here’s some useful links if you’re interested in buying the books I mentioned above :

The Cuckoo’s Calling, Paperback
Inferno, Hardcover
The Casual Vacancy, Paperback
The Lost Symbol, Paperback

Leave a Reply

