The Summer Sandal

The Summer Sandal

the summer sandal (1 of 1)-2

Indigo Flat from Cotton On (IDR 199,900 or buy 2 for IDR 300,000)

I don’t know why I keep making summer themed posts when we don’t actually have summer in Indonesia, but because I’m currently in a holiday and it’s pretty much sunny lately, I just think it’s appropriate. So, I went to a nearby mall recently and discovered that Cotton On had just opened a store there, so me and my sister decided to peek inside to see what they have to offer. I’m never too excited about their clothing items just because I found it’s a bit overpriced for the quality, so I just browse a bit and moved to their footwear line called “rubi” (yes, with lowercase “r”). I remember thinking there was a lot of sandals, probably because it’s summer in the western countries. And then I found the sandal (I just found out that the site called it flats, but I don’t care I still think it’s a sandal, haha!). To be honest, it was love at first sight. I don’t know why, maybe the cut, but it screams summer! I tried it on, wasn’t expecting it to be comfortable at all just because the sole was so flat. But boy, was I wrong. It fits snugly, the back wasn’t too low or too high that it scratch my feet when I tried walking in it, the front straps are not too tight, and the size was just perfect.

A quick background story, I am a huge fan of flip flops. By huge fan I don’t mean I have an insane amount of flip flops (I just own three pairs and they’re all standard, generic flip flops, nothing fancy), I just really like to wear them. I have wide feet and quite a big size — I’m between the size 39 to 40 or size 8,5 — so a lot of time I found that normal shoes are either too slim or too small (Indonesian brands usually run smaller in sizes compared to European or American standard size). So I am very picky about my shoes. I only have a few pairs that I wear regularly, so when I’m going to a nearby places or just grocery shopping, I prefer wearing flip flops. There are times when I feel like wearing flip flops to a place further than a grocery shop, but my mom always give me a “are you serious?” look. So I when I found this sandal, I thought it  would be the perfect substitute for flip flops! It still looks casual in every way, but definitely looks more “put together” than a pair of flip flops. Of course I think it is very appropriate for sunny days and I hope can handle the unpredictable rainy weather of Indonesia! All in all, I love it and I’m sure I will get a lot of use out of it!

What is your choice of footwear these days? Tell me in the comment section below!

Leave a Reply

