Review & Swatch // Bobbi Brown Sheer Lip Color in Peach Sorbet

Bobbi Brown Peach Sorbet Sheer Lip Color

 

Bobbi Brown Peach Sorbet Sheer Lip Color

Following the previous post, here’s a review and swatch of the Bobbi Brown Sheer Lip Color in Peach Sorbet. Before I start, let me give you a warning : this is a limited edition shade lauched with the Bobbi Brown Surf & Sand collection for summer 2014 (I think!), so if you’re interested in getting them I suggest you to go to your nearest Bobbi Brown counter or visit their website while it’s still available! As far as I know, Bobbi Brown Sheer Lip Color range is not available in Indonesia until the beginning of this year. The only other shade I got, Carolina, was bought when I visited Malaysia. So when I started seeing posts on my Bloglovin feed about the Limited Edition shades of the Sheer Lip Color range from Surf & Sand collection, I was like ‘Okay, another gorgeous shade that I can’t have’. I was particularly attracted to the shade Peach Sorbet, a light peachy pink with subtle shimmer that looked extra gorgeous!

But then I saw a post from Bobbi Brown Indonesia’s Facebook Page that featured a Sheer Lip Color picture, so naturally I went ahead and asked them whether or not it’s available in the counters now. They said it is, but it was out of stock and will be restocked next month. So, the next time I visited Plaza Senayan I made sure to pay a visit to the Bobbi Brown counter (FYI, it’s located inside Sogo Department Store). I was initially looking to try out the corrector, but it was out of stock and then I remember I wanted to ask about the Sheer Lip Colors, particularly the limited edition shades from Surf and Sand Collection. They said the Surf and Sand Collection had been arrived but it would only be available for sale starting tomorrow. I was so bummed! I went there and got nothing. A few days later, I found myself around the Sudirman area again, so this time I visited Pacific Place just to see the collection. I was so happy to find a stand filled with the collection, I think every item from the collection was available, but I wasn’t really paying attention since I was only interested in the Sheer Lip Colors. I asked the girl on the counter to try on the lip colors but sadly they said I can’t because it’s a limited edition shade and a only few pieces was available for each shades. I understand the reason but seriously, I didn’t come just to see the packaging. So I decided I should just buy the Peach Sorbet shade since I have wanted it for so long. So finally, I went home with it.

Quite a long story, huh? I’m sorry, but I can’t help but share my struggle! So here’s the review & swatch :

bobbi brown peach sorbet swatch

Coming from the Sheer Lip Color range, i have expected these lip colors to be light on the lips but still pack quite a punch of color. It is indeed right, the formula feels just as nice on the lips as the other one I have in the shade Carolina. All the Sheer Lip Color shades in Surf and Sand Collection have shimmer in it, but not the obnoxiously glittery ones. Just look at the swatch above, it’s subtle and pretty. All those goodness aside, the color is not quite right for me. What I have seen from swatches online, Peach Sorbet is a light peach color which I think might be good for a barely there, my lips but better shade. What I didn’t expect was that it is very light peach. I have quite pigmented lips, so with one swipe, only the shimmer shows. Two to three swipes, the color became too opaque and it’s obvious that it’s not the right color for my complexion (I have medium skin with neutral undertone), and because of the texture (and maybe the shimmer) the color doesn’t spread as even as I would like it to. I can make the color work by using it as some kind of a gloss over the top of other lipstick, but it just seems like too much effort! All and all, I believe this will be such a pretty color with great formula when worn by those with lighter complexion and less pigmented lips, but sadly I don’t think I can get much use of it. I’m thinking I might want to sell this, so if any of you reside in Indonesia and wanted this particular lip color, contact me!

 

Leave a Reply

