Falling Back In Love with Drugstore Lipsticks

falling back in love with drugstore lipsticks

drugstore lipsticks (2 of 2)

drugstore lipsticks (3 of 2)

From Left to Right
Top : Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Romance – Maybelline Color Whisper in Rose of Attraction – LA Girl Glazed Lip Paint in Blushing
Bottom : Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm in Coral Twist – Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Sandalwood Beige – Revlon Matte Lipstick in Mauve it Over

As with most people, I started my makeup journey through drugstore products. If I remember correctly my first drugstore lipstick was from Revlon. It was only IDR 35.000 at that time (approx 3 dollars) so it’s very affordable. Then I started venturing into the world of Higher End lipsticks (I don’t have that much money to spend so I sort of collect high end lipsticks, it’s such a guilty pleasure) and those drugstore lipsticks got forgotten. Until last month when I was in Revlon’s counter looking for the Matte Balm in Sultry but ended up buying one of the matte lipstick in Mauve it Over because I couldn’t find the Matte Balm in Sultry. It’s the first time I tried Revlon’s Matte formula, and I was blown away. It’s creamy, doesn’t tug a bit. Yes, it will still look bad if you have dry cracked lips, but it’s so much better than MAC’s matte lipsticks. Plus, the color “Mauve it Over” is such a pretty nude.  I worn it for pretty much every single day for the next month.

Since then, it’s like I’ve been on a drugstore lipstick kick. I rediscovered my old favorites like Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Romance and Maybelline Color Whisper in Rose of Attraction. And I bought one of the LA Girl Glazed Lip Paint in Blushing. It’s creamy, it’s minty, you can wear it alone — dab a little and spread for a subtle color or “paint” your lips for bold opaque color — or you can wear it on top of another lipstick as a gloss. I love layering the LA Girl Glazed Lip Paint in Blushing over Revlon Matte Lipstick in Mauve it Over to create a unique blend of mauve color. I’m thinking of buying another LA Girl Glazed Lip Paint, but I don’t want the bold colors so maybe I’ll buy Elude next time.

The beauty of drugstore lipsticks is you can buy like 4 of them and still spend less than say, one Bobbi Brown lipstick. So, how about you? Are you a drugstore lipstick kind of girl, or do you prefer higher end brands?

Leave a Reply

