The Multipurpose Powder // Bourjois Healthy Balance Unifying Powder

the multipurpose powder (1 of 3)

the multipurpose powder (2 of 3)

the multipurpose powder (3 of 3)

When I was younger and didn’t know anything about make up, I used to think that powder is the base. I mean, instead of using foundation, powder was used to even out the complexion. Now that I know a little more about make up, I realized that there’s a whole different range of powder and therefore, not all powder are created equal. For example, there’s mineral powder that is used as base, but there’s also setting powder, that — as the name suggests — is used for setting the base. Mineral powder, like foundation, have a range of shades to suit every skin tone. But setting powder, which have very light to no coverage usually have less shade range or simply called translucent because it isn’t meant to cover anything, therefore no color match needed.

Now that I understand a bit more about make up, I mostly use powder to set the base. Living in a tropical country where everyday is pretty much summer, powder is definitely a necessity, especially when having a long day, or spending a lot of time outdoors. But since I have normal-dry skin, I’m quite picky about which powder I like. I definitely wouldn’t want powder that’s too matte or makes my face look, well, powdery. I need powder that keeps shine at bay while still maintaining the dewy-ness of the base. And since I’m not a huge fan of heavy, full coverage bases, a bit of coverage in my powder is definitely appreciated. At first I thought I will need at least two different powder to serve this purpose, but it turns out, I don’t! How, you may ask? Well, the answer is Bourjois Healthy Balance Powder.

Bourjois Healthy Balance Powder is, I would say, a multi purpose powder. First, it has coverage, so I can just use it on its own when I’m not in the mood for liquid foundation. It won’t cover all, but it will even out minor discoloration and give an overall fresher look. Second, it’s very very finely milled (I know everyone say that every powder is finely milled but seriously I don’t know how else to put it because it really is finely milled!). The first time I use it, I swirled my brush over it quite harshly and I was shocked to see the powder dust flew everywhere. Because of that, this powder is also nice to use over top liquid foundation to set it, or to touch up during the day without it ever get cakey. And this powder is not so matte, and it doesn’t cling to dry patches. What else could I ask for?!

I heard some people compare Bourjouis Healthy Balance Powder to MAC Mineralize Skin Finish, but since I haven’t tried it, I cannot comment on that and I don’t think I’m going to want to try the MAC offering anytime soon because Bourjois is easier to be found, and also cheaper, like half the MAC price cheaper! So, have you ever tried Bourjois Healthy Balance Powder? Do you like it as much as I do? Is there any other multipurpose powder you would recommend? Do share in the comments down below!

2 thoughts on “The Multipurpose Powder // Bourjois Healthy Balance Unifying Powder

Leave a Reply

